naturally french logo alternative logo








Share a Culture

est. 1999

Language Courses

Cultural Briefing

Facebook circle blue large twitter-icon-hover-ar

About us

naturally french logo

"If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart."- Nelson Mandela

Penny Croquette


I live in Altrincham with my French husband, twin boys age 8 and our little dog: I enjoy skiing, hockey, cycling, camping and long walks in the countryside. I have always loved French- having studied it from age 11, I took it at A-level and continued to study it as part of a joint honours degree with business studies at Nottingham University, during which I spent a year at a business school in Lille. After a 15 year career in the industry, I decided to take a change of direction when my children started school and retrained as a teaching assistant. As a family, we continue to spend the majority of our holidays in France with family and friends.


J'habite à Altrincham avec mon mari français, mes enfants, des jumeaux de 8 ans et notre petit chien. J'aime le ski, le hockey, le vélo, le camping et les longues promenades à la campagne. J'ai toujours adoré le francais- l'ayant étudié depuis l'âge de 11 ans, j'ai pris le A-level et continué à l'étudier pendant mes études de commerce à l'université de Nottingham, durant laquelle j'ai passé une année à l'école de gestion de Lille. Après avoir passé 15 ans dans le privé, j'ai décidé de changer d'orientation quand mes enfants ont commencé l'école et je me suis reformer comme assistante pédagogique. En famille, nous continuons à passer la majorité de nos vacances en France.



Pilar Castellano

Hello! My name is Pilar, I am a journalist and I have been working for three years  with La Jolie Ronde. I did my degree at the University of Navarre (Spain) and then did a Master in Communication in London. Later on I did a course as a teacher of Spanish Language for foreign students at the Instituto Cervantes, Manchester. Since then I have taught adults, teenagers and children. I have worked in Sixth Form Collages and Schools. My latest adventure is working with primary school children. I love to see the progress the children make; some of them have been with me since pre-school and it is great to see them mature. I love the cinema, reading, and a good walk in the countryside. Did I mention I am a keen baker?


¡Hola! Me llamo Pilar Castellano. Soy periodista y llevo 3 años trabajando para La Jolie Ronde. Estudie en la Universidad de Navarra y después hice un Máster en Comunicación en Londres. Después hice un curso de Enseñanza de Español para extranjeros en el  Instituto Cervantes de Manchester. Desde entonces he dado clases de español a adultos, jóvenes y niños. He trabajado en institutos y colegios y mi última aventura son los niños de primaria.   Me encanta ver el progreso que hacen mis niños, algunos llevan conmigo desde preescolar y es estupendo verles madurar. Soy aficionada a la lectura, el cine y dar paseos por el campo. ¡Y la repostería!


Sophie Mohajer

My name is Sophie, I have been living in Manchester for the last 20 years, before that I lived in Brighton and I must admit I miss the sea, the wind, the fog and the buzz of the lovely town. I have a daughter who is 28 years old, and a son of 19. Both of them speak fluent French. We usually spend the summer in the South of France with family. I love reading, watching movies, going to the gym or riding my bike. I teach French to the children for Naturally French on Thursday and Saturday , I always look forward to those days , I have so much fun with the children.


Bonjour, je m’appelle Sophie, J’habite à Manchester depuis 20 ans. Avant j’habitais à Brighton and je dois dire que la mer, le vent, le brouillard et l’animation de la ville me manquent. J’aime lire, regarder des films, aller a la gym et faire du vélo/ J’enseigne le français aux enfants le jeudi et samedi. . C’est avec un aussi grand plaisir de donner des cours aux petits chaque semaine





Emma Allen

Originally from Bolton in Lancashire, I now live in Cheshire with my young family.  I have a BA (Hons) degree in French and Spanish from the University of Leeds and also an MA in Translation from the University of Manchester. I travelled extensively throughout my early career, working in Business sectors as diverse as IT and Sportswear manufacturing. Now that I have 2 young children I have stepped out of the corporate world and into that of French and Spanish tutoring. Outside of work I love to spend time with friends and family and spending as much time outside as possible!


Originaire de Bolton en Lancashire, maintenant j’habite a Cheshire avec ma famille jeune. J’ai étudié le français et l'espagnol à l'université de Leeds  et en plus un MA en Traduction à l’Université de Manchester. J'ai beaucoup voyagé au cours de ma carrière, travaillant dans les secteurs commerciaux aussi divers que l'informatique et la fabrication des vêtements de sport. Maintenant que je ai deux jeunes enfants, j'ai quitte la commerce pour devenir enseignante de français et espagnol. En dehors du travail, je aime passer du temps avec les amis et la famille et passer autant de temps à l'extérieur que possible!


Soy de Bolton en Lancashire y ahora vivo en Cheshire con mi joven familia. Tengo un BA (Hons) en francés y español de la Universidad de Leeds y también un MA en Traducción de la Universidad de Manchester. He viajado mucho por mi carrera, trabajando en sectores diversos como la Informatica  y la fabricación de ropa de deporte. Ahora que tengo 2 niños pequeños, he salido del mundo comercial y soy tutora de francés y español. Fuera del trabajo me encanta pasar tiempo con mis amigos y mi familia y pasar tiempo al aire libre.


Naturally French and Spanish has been teaching foreign languages to children and business people for over fifteen years. We offer an alternative to the large class sizes of adult education colleges with an average of eight students per group. Adult classes are taught in the native language which enables our students to learn comprehension skills very quickly allowing our students to communicate in French and /or Spanish as quickly as possible in social or business situations. Most of our tutors are native French and Spanish speakers, qualified and with years of experience. Adult courses are in line with the European Standard Reference framework. Children classes follow the famous La Jolie Ronde methodology with its unique, structured and proven Programme.


Naturally French & Spanish offer the following services:

Business French and Spanish

French and Spanish to young children under La Jolie Ronde License

Adult, GCSE and A level courses

Bilingual classes for French Speaking children.


Please contact our enrolment office on 07798 751 786 or email us at [email protected]

Laure Butcher

I am the Director of Naturally French Ltd. I was born in Friburg in Germany where I lived for several years. I travelled quite a lot in my childhood as my father was a surgeon in the Army; hence the passion for other cultures and languages. I came to the UK at the age of twenty as a French assistant in Harrogate to learn English. I was only supposed to be here for one year and 23 years later, I still live in England with my husband, John and two children aged 16 and 12 who are both bilingual.

I now live in South Manchester.

After working as a Marketing Project Manager, I started Naturally French Ltd 17 years ago, teaching French to young children, through to Business French combined with Cultural Briefing.  

My Business (MBA) and Teaching qualifications (PGCE French and Spanish) have helped me run this successful enterprise. I am still passionate about teaching languages and love sharing my enthusiasm on the subject!


Bonjour, je m'appelle Laure et je dirige Naturally French & Spanish. Je suis née à Fribourg en Allemagne où j'y ai vécu plusieurs années. Jeune, j'ai beaucoup voyagé quand mon père travaillait pour l'armée. Cette expérience m' a ouverte sur d'autres cultures er langues comme l'anglais et l'espagnol. Je suis venue en Angleterre à l'âge de 20 ans comme assistante de français à Harrogate Ladies College. Je devais y rester seulement une année pour apprendre l'anglais et 23 ans plus tard je suis mariée à un anglais, John et j'ai deux enfants qui sont bilingues.

4 fe603c53e97ff51659c35bbb68f808da FullSizeRender Penny